A Welcome Introduction of Common Sense to the Michigan Sex Offender Registry
Consensual sex between teen lovers, illegal in Michigan, can lead to a variety of serious criminal consequences including prison. Consensual sex by a person under 16 is illegal. The offense is commonly referred to as statutory rape but it is more accurately called Criminal Sexual Conduct or CSC.
On July 1, 2011, the Sex Offender Registration Law in Michigan will get a much needed injection of common sense. Until that date, the law in Michigan will continue to require 25 years of sex offender registration pursuant to the Sex Offender Registration Act (SORA). Under the amended statute, signed into law by Gov. Rick Snyder, young offenders will not necessarily have to register as sex offenders. Basically, if a person has consensual sex with a 13, 14, or 15 year old and the difference in age is not more than four years, registration will not be required. These relationships are commonly referred to as Romeo and Juliet relationships in the courtroom.
Equally good news is that those who have already been convicted under similar circumstances can petition the court where their conviction was entered for their name to be removed from the list. Although these CSC defendants can file the motions on their own, it is always highly recommended that highly qualified legal representation be obtained.
The age of consent in Michigan has not changed and remains at 16-years-old.
The other recent change to SORA, that the most serious CSC convictions require lifetime sex offender registration, remains in effect and unchanged by the new statutory amendment.