OWI Charge in Troy, Michigan

You will face tough prosecutors and harsh judges if you’ve been accused of OWI in the 52-4 District Court in Troy. A strong, aggressive attorney can turn the tables to favor your defense.

Michigan Criminal Defense Attorneys - Group

Facing an OWI Charge in Troy, Michigan. What Should I Do?

If you have been charged with OWI or OWVI in the 52-4 District Court of Troy, you need a knowledgeable DUI lawyer to protect your freedom and reputation. The 52-4 District Court in Troy is located at 520 West Big Beaver Road. The judges are harsh on OWI cases, but the Michigan OWI-DUI defense attorneys at LEWIS & DICKSTEIN, P.L.L.C., are ready to defend you. We will fight to get your case dismissed or negotiate for reduced charges and a lenient sentence.

Troy’s judges are notoriously harsh in criminal cases. LEWIS & DICKSTEIN, P.L.L.C.’s defense attorneys have extensive experience and a track record of success in the 52-4 District Court.

OWI vs. OWVI

Though many people refer to it as driving under the influence (DUI) in Michigan, there are “Operating While Intoxicated” (OWI) and “Operating While Visibly Impaired” (OWVI). If you have been charged in Troy with OWI, you allegedly drove a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or above. An OWVI charge means your ability to operate a motor vehicle was visibly impaired because of alcohol or other drugs and/or intoxicants in your body.

An OWI charge can be a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the number of previous convictions, if there were any injuries or death, and multiple other important factors. The OWI Defense Attorneys with LEWIS & DICKSTEIN, P.L.L.C. have the experience, skill, and dedication to handle your OWI case successfully. Our attorneys have represented thousands of clients who have faced OWI in Troy’s 52-4 District Court and other cities in Michigan. We will work tirelessly and zealously to achieve the best possible result for you in your case. A conviction can change every aspect of a person’s life, and we will walk you through this scary and vulnerable time, free from judgment.

Attorney - Michigan - Awards

What Penalties Might I Face for OWI Charges in Troy?

There are several alcohol and drug-related driving offenses, including OWI, in Troy’s 52-4 District Court. Here are some examples of charges our defense team has successfully defended against:

First Offense – Operating While Intoxicated (OWI)

  • Up to 93 days in jail.
  • $100 to $500 fine.
  • Up to 360 hours of community service.
  • Driver’s license suspension for 30 days, followed by license restrictions for 150 days.
  • Possible vehicle immobilization.
  • Possible ignition interlock.
  • Six points added to the driving record.

High Blood Alcohol Content (BAC of 0.17 or higher)

  • Up to 180 days in jail.
  • $200 to $700 fine.
  • Up to 360 hours of community service.
  • Driver’s license suspension for one (1) year. Eligible for restrictions after 45 days of suspension with an ignition interlock device on all vehicles the offender owns or intends to operate.
  • Possible metal license plate confiscation if the offender operates a vehicle without a properly installed ignition interlock device.
  • Mandatory vehicle immobilization if the offender is later convicted of operating a vehicle without a properly installed ignition interlock device.
  • Six (6) points will be added to the offender’s driving record.

Operating While Visibly Impaired (OWVI)

  • Up to 93 days in jail.
  • Up to a $300 fine.
  • Up to 360 hours of community service.
  • Driver’s license restrictions for 90 days (180 days if impaired by a controlled substance).
  • Possible vehicle immobilization.
  • Four (4) points added to the offender’s driving record.

Second Offense OWI Charge in Troy within Seven (7) years of Operating While Intoxicated

  • Five (5) days minimum and up to one year in jail.
  • $200 to $1000 fine.
  • 30 to 90 days of community service.
  • Driver’s license revocation and denial for a minimum of one year (minimum of five (5) years if there was a prior revocation within seven (7) years).
  • License plate confiscation.
  • Vehicle immobilization for 90 to 180 days, unless the vehicle is forfeited.
  • Possible vehicle forfeiture.
  • Six (6) points added to the offender’s driving record.

Third Offense OWI Within Lifetime Is a Felony

  • One to five (5) years of imprisonment.
  • $500 to $5,000 fine.
  • Probation, with 30 days to one year in jail.
  • 60 to 180 days of community service.
  • Driver’s license revocation and denial if there are two (2) convictions within seven (7) years or three (3) convictions within 10 years. The minimum period of revocation and denial is one year (a minimum of five (5) years if there was a prior revocation within seven (7) years).
  • License plate confiscation.
  • Vehicle immobilization for one to three (3) years, unless the vehicle is forfeited.
  • Possible vehicle forfeiture.
  • Vehicle registration denial.
  • Six (6) points added to the offender’s driving record.

All of the above charges will result in driver’s license actions by the Secretary of State. If you have an OWI charge in Troy, the officer will destroy your driver’s license, and you will be issued a 625g paper permit on which to drive until your case is resolved in the 52-4 District Court.

Preliminary Breath Test / PBT Refusal

If you are stopped for driving while intoxicated or driving while visibly impaired, the officer may ask you to take several sobriety tests. These tests include a Preliminary Breath Test (PBT) to determine whether you are under the influence of alcohol. If you refuse to take the PBT, a civil infraction may be issued to you for refusing, and you may be fined up to $150 plus court fees. Persons under age 21 who refuse a PBT will also receive two points on their driving record.

Chemical Breath and Blood Tests for a Troy OWI Charge

If you are arrested on an OWI charge in Troy, you will be required to take a chemical test to determine your bodily alcohol content (BAC) (commonly known as a breathalyzer). Under Michigan law, you are considered to have given your implied consent to a breathalyzer or blood chemical test. If you refuse a chemical test, six points will be added to your driving record, and your license will be automatically suspended for one year. A PBT or preliminary breath test is NOT a chemical test, and there is no impact on your driver’s license if you refuse a PBT. If you are cited for an implied consent violation for refusing a chemical test, don’t worry; we can still help you!

Michigan Criminal Defense Attorney

Top Attorneys for OWI Charges in Troy, Michigan

An OWI or OWVI charge can quickly become a complex case in Troy’s 52-4 District Court. Whether you face a misdemeanor or felony OWI charge, it is crucial to enlist the help of the qualified, seasoned, and respected attorneys at LEWIS & DICKSTEIN, P.L.L.C. The likelihood of receiving a plea bargain, maybe even a non-alcohol-related charge, will improve if you receive thorough and aggressive legal representation. If you call us for a free consultation, a veteran OWI defense attorney will:

  • take the time to talk with you,
  • discuss potential strategies for your case,
  • examine possible defenses to the charge,
  • answer your questions,
  • address your concerns with compassion, and
  • work with you to develop the best plan moving forward.

We will find a way to help you. Most importantly, we are not afraid to win!

Call us today at (248) 263-6800 for a free consultation or complete an online Request for Assistance Form. We will contact you promptly and find a way to help you.

We will find a way to help you and, most importantly,
we are not afraid to win!

Contact Us - Michigan Criminal Defense Attorneys