Reckless Driving Defense Attorney in Michigan
Criminal defense attorneys dedicated to the defense of reckless driving in Michigan. When other lawyers tell you that there is no defense, we will find a way to help you and do everything possible to make sure you are not convicted. We are not afraid to win!
Reckless Driving Charges and Penalties
There are three types of Reckless Driving charges in Michigan. They are as follows:
- Misdemeanor Reckless Driving. When a person operates a vehicle in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property. Misdemeanor Reckless Driving has a maximum possible sentence of 2 years of probation, up to 93 days in jail, 6 motor vehicle points, and a hard driver’s license suspension for 90 days (no restricted license).
- Felony Reckless Driving. It occurs when a person operates a vehicle in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property and, as a result of the offense, causes serious impairment of a body function to another person. This felony carries a maximum possible prison sentence of 5 years and up to 5 years of probation.
- Reckless Driving Causing Death. This is the most serious type of this offense and has a maximum possible prison sentence of 15 years and up to 5 years of probation.
What exactly is Reckless Driving in Michigan?
Reckless Driving is when a person operates a vehicle in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property. Determining whether a driver engaged in willful and wanton conduct can be a complicated task. Since reckless driving requires more than mere negligence, a prosecutor must show that the defendant did more than simply make a mistake about the rules of the road. Willful and wanton basically means that the driver was aware and mindful of the risks created by the driving but he or she was indifferent to the results.
The difference between misdemeanor and felony Reckless Driving is that with a felony, the operation of the motor vehicle must have either caused a serious bodily injury or death. The contributory fault of the injured or deceased driver can be used as a defense.
“Will I go to jail for Reckless Driving?”
The most common question we are asked by prospective clients charged with Reckless Driving is whether they will have to serve time in jail or prison. The Defense Team with LEWIS & DICKSTEIN, P.L.L.C. is almost always successful in keeping clients out of jail. We have an unparalleled track record of helping clients avoid jail time or getting the criminal charges dismissed.
Defense of Reckless Driving Causing Death Charges
LEWIS & DICKSTEIN, P.L.L.C. is widely known for providing the highest caliber defense available in Michigan. We take the time to get to know our clients and thoroughly prepare and develop a strategy to get the best possible result. If you are charged with or accused of felony or misdemeanor Reckless Driving in Oakland County, Wayne County, Macomb County, Washtenaw County, Livingston County, or elsewhere in Michigan, please contact us today at (248) 263-6800 or complete a Request for Assistance Form and an experienced criminal defense lawyer will promptly contact you.