Commercial Driver’s Licenses and the Law
Your commercial driver’s license can be disqualified or suspended for violations committed in a commercial or non-commercial vehicle.
Penalties for a Michigan CDL Suspension
Violations can include DUI/OWI or other related offenses, refusal of the preliminary breath test, speeding, reckless driving, and violation of out-of-service orders. A violation can result in the suspension of a commercial driver’s license. You are subject to a 1-year disqualification for a 1st violation of any major offense, including alcohol or drug-related offenses, refusal to submit to a chemical test, committing a hit and run, leaving the scene of an accident, and committing a felony with your commercial vehicle. The disqualification is extended to 3 years if a violation occurs while carrying hazardous material. The disqualification is a lifetime for a 2nd offense.
Driving under the influence in a commercial vehicle is having a blood alcohol content of 0.04% or higher. You can be placed out of service for 24 hours if you refuse a preliminary breath test, consume alcohol within 4 hours of driving a commercial vehicle, or consume any alcohol while operating a commercial vehicle.
Additionally, you must notify your employer within 30 days of any traffic conviction, the end of the next day after receiving a suspension/disqualification notice, and within 24 hours of an out-of-service order. It is important to note that any offenses committed in a non-commercial vehicle can count against your CDL and result in a commercial driver’s license suspension.
CDL Suspension Hearings in Michigan
If you are considering contesting the suspension or disqualification of your CDL, you should have the assistance of a Michigan driver’s license appeal attorney. There are special rules and deadlines, and you should have legal help to navigate the system.
Generally, administrative hearings need to be requested within 14 days of your arrest or suspension. Some documents and evaluations need to be completed and forwarded to a hearing officer before the hearing date.
Reinstatement of Your Michigan CDL
The requirements for reinstatement of your Michigan CDL vary depending on the reason for the disqualification and whether your non-commercial driver’s license has also been revoked or suspended. The requirements can vary from completing an application for reinstatement to retaking the CDL driving skills and knowledge test. There are fees required to reinstate your CDL too. You should have the help of a Michigan driver’s license appeal attorney to ensure you are completing the process properly.
Extensive experience in getting driver’s licenses reinstated.
LEWIS & DICKSTEIN, P.L.L.C. has decades of experience getting clients their driver’s license reinstated. Our attorneys are the Michigan driver’s license appeal lawyers that people can count on to get them back on the road legally. Your livelihood depends on your CDL remaining valid. If you have had your CDL suspended, or believe it may be soon, contact LEWIS & DICKSTEIN, P.L.L.C. r a free consultation. We can help you get back on the road.
Call us today at (248) 263-6800 for a free consultation or complete a Request for Assistance Form. We will contact you promptly and find a way to help you.