Domestic violence cases are highly sensitive, with many moving parts.
Pleading guilty to domestic violence charges will impact your career, marriage, child custody, immigration status (for non-citizens), and potentially your freedom. You may have more options than you think.
Domestic Violence is Considered a Serious Crime in Michigan
Whether you face a misdemeanor domestic violence first offense charge or a domestic violence third offense felony charge, you need an aggressive and experienced team of attorneys to answer your questions and see you through the process. LEWIS & DICKSTEIN P.L.L.C. is an award-winning law firm in the State of Michigan that has helped thousands of clients craft a strategic defense for domestic violence-related allegations, resulting in lesser sentences, dropped charges, and acquittals at trial. Our top-rated domestic violence attorneys have decades of experience and a track record of success.
What if I’m innocent? Can a top-rated domestic violence attorney help?
In many domestic violence cases, there are many versions of a story. An experienced domestic violence defense attorney who has experience representing clients charged with domestic violence understands that, in some cases, a client is accused wrongly. Granting every client the benefit of the doubt, we listen to the facts of your story with empathy, respect, and open-mindedness. In some cases, the accuser is lying, or the accused merely acts in self-defense. If there is a way to get your charges dismissed or reduced, the team with LEWIS & DICKSTEIN, P.L.L.C. can help.
What consequences do I face with a guilty verdict? How can a top-rated domestic violence attorney help?
Under Michigan Penal Code 750.81, a first-time offender faces a maximum penalty of up to 93 days in jail, a fine of $500, and up to 2 years of probation with various terms and conditions. A second offense misdemeanor charge carries up to a year in jail, a fine of $1,000, and up to 2 years probation. In a third offense, you are looking at a felony, punishable by up to 5 years in prison, up to 5 years on probation, and a fine of up to $5,000. Jail time and other penalties aside, you will potentially face devastating losses in terms of future employability. Because of the long-term effects that a domestic violence charge has on one’s life, it is imperative that you enlist the help of Michigan’s toughest attorney teams with a track record of success. With the help of our top-rated domestic violence attorneys, clients have received lesser punishments, including anger management or community service instead of jail time. We have gotten domestic violence charges entirely off our client’s record in many cases.
I’ve been charged with domestic violence in Michigan. Now what?
Before pleading guilty or not guilty, it is vital that you proceed with reputable, experienced legal representation. How you plead can significantly impact the outcome of your case. If you are accused of domestic violence and not yet charged, we may be able to help you avoid charges and an arrest. Before proceeding any further, you must enlist one of Michigan’s finest law firms, LEWIS & DICKSTEIN P.L.L.C. If you call us, a domestic violence defense lawyer will take the time to speak with you, answer all of your questions, and address each of your concerns.
Call us today at (248) 263-6800 for a free consultation or complete a Request for Assistance Form. We will contact you promptly and find a way to help you.