Domestic Violence Defense
If you are charged with Domestic Violence in Southeastern Michigan, you will need a top defense attorney to protect and defend you. Prosecutors are tough, we are tougher.
False Allegations of Domestic Violence
A 22-year-old Rochester Hills man was arrested after Oakland County Sheriff’s deputies were dispatched based upon a domestic violence claim. The man is accused of beating his mother after an argument. She was treated for injuries by Rochester Hills paramedics after the police responded to the incident. The man had allegedly fled and was tracked down by a police dog. Individuals calling LEWIS & DICKSTEIN, P.L.L.C. often inquire how someone can be charged with domestic violence if the complainant witness is not a spouse or romantic partner. So, what qualified as a family or household member for domestic violence allegations?
The notion that domestic violence allegations are limited to spouses, boyfriends, girlfriends, or those in dating relationships is inaccurate. Domestic violence can also be between “family or household members.”
What is a family or household member for domestic violence charges?
Under MCL 400.1501, “family or household member” includes:
(i) A spouse or former spouse.
(ii) An individual with whom the person resides or has resided.
(iii) An individual with whom the person has or has had a dating relationship.
(iv) An individual with whom the person is or has engaged in a sexual relationship.
(v) An individual to whom the person is related or was formerly related by marriage.
(vi) An individual with whom the person has a child in common.
We Can Help With Felony and Misdemeanor Domestic Violence Cases
A first offense of domestic violence is a misdemeanor that carries a maximum possible jail sentence of 93 days. A domestic violence third offense is a felony punishable by a maximum of 5 years in prison (the Michigan Department of Corrections). For domestic violence purposes, a family or household member includes a spouse or a domestic partner, and it also includes a person with whom the defendant lived, had a child, or married.
If you are charged with domestic violence in Oakland, Wayne, Macomb, Livingston, or Washtenaw County, or elsewhere in Michigan, and you are looking to work with a highly experienced, tenacious, caring, and patient domestic violence defense attorney, please call LEWIS & DICKSTEIN, P.L.L.C. for a free consultation.
Call us today at (248) 263-6800 for a free consultation or complete a Request for Assistance Form. We will contact you promptly and find a way to help you.