MICHIGAN VEHICLE FORFEITURE AND IMMOBILIZATION ATTORNEYS FOR ALCOHOL RELATED DRIVING OFFENSES. EXPERIENCED AND DEDICATED DRUNK DRIVING OFFENSE ATTORNEYS WHO ARE DEDICATED TO DEFENDING THOSE CHARGED WITH AN ALCOHOL RELATED DRIVING OFFENSE.
Being arrested for Operating While Intoxicated or Operating while visibly impaired is a serious offense which can result in a criminal conviction, jail time and a suspended driver’s license. In some cases your vehicle could also be immobilized. You will want to consult with a Michigan drunk driving attorney
An experienced Michigan drunk driving attorney will fight to help you avoid the life-altering consequences that come with a driving under the influence conviction. Besides receiving a lengthy probation term or even a possible jail sentence, the Secretary of State will also assess fines and punishment for driving under the influence of alcohol.
Consequences imposed by the Secretary of State for a DUI or OWI charge
Vehicle Forfeiture: People who commit multiple substance abuse-related offenses, may be subject to vehicle forfeiture. The Court could order that the vehicle be sold. If the vehicle is leased, it could be returned to the lessor. If there are any proceeds from the sale of the vehicle, they will be dispursed to any lein holder first with additional monies given to any interested party including any co-owner of the vehicle and any victim of the instant offense.
Vehicle Immobilization: If you have no prior convictions on your driving record, your vehicle can be immobilized for up to 180 days. If you have one prior conviction within a 7 year period, your vehicle could be immobilized anywhere from 90 to 180 days. If you have two prior convictions over any period of time, the vehicle can be immobilized for a period of one to three years.
License Plate Confiscation: The Court is required to confiscate your metal license plate if you have one prior alcohol related conviction within a 7 year period or two priors over any period of time, the arresting police officer will confiscate the metal license plate from the vehicle and issue a paper license plate. You will not be able to get another metal license plate until the court case is complete. Ownership of the vehicle is not taken into consideration.
Denial of Registration: Registration denial limits repeat offenders access to vehicles. If your license has been suspended for three or more driving offenses you will not be eligible to register any vehicle with the Secretary of State. This denial stays in effect until you are re-licensed.
Trying to avoid forfeiture of your vehicle by transferring it to another party is a felony and you could face prison time and/or a fine of up to $2,000.00. In order to avoid such costly mistakes, you will want to retain a Michigan drunk driving attorney who will assist you in trying to keep your vehicle from being forefited by the court. An experienced attorney will know which options to take to help you keep your vehicle.
Don’t make the mistake and let an inexperienced or general-practice lawyer handle your drunk driving case. The attorneys at Lewis & Dickstein, P.L.L.C.
have years of experience, trial work and legal expertise with OWI laws. Call our office now at (248) 263-6800 to speak directly with an experienced OWI attorney and get the personal representation you deserve. You can also fill out a Request for Assistance Form
and one of our lawyers will call you back as soon as possible.
for a list of penalties assessed to drunk driving convictions.