Possession of Cocaine, Heroin, and Other Drugs in Novi, Oakland County
Novi’s 52-1 District Court judges are notorious for how tough they can be on drug charges. The best defense against a harsh judge is a reputable, respected, and fearless lawyer.
Defending Drug Possessing Charges
Since 1995, LEWIS AND DICKSTEIN, P.L.L.C. has provided top-quality legal counsel to clients facing various charges, including drug possession charges in Novi, Michigan. We have represented clients facing domestic violence, retail theft, sexual assault, drug charges, and homicide. We have defended countless clients on charges of possession of narcotics and other controlled substances and have helped clients receive less severe punishments and acquittals in some cases. Drug possession charges in the 52-1 District Court in Novi, Michigan, must be taken seriously since the Novi District Court judges are notoriously tough.
I am currently facing drug charges. Will I go to jail?
In Michigan, a first offense of possession of drugs might be charged as a misdemeanor, which carries up to one year in jail, up to two years of probation, and $2,000 in fines as punishment. The severity of your sentence for possession of drugs or controlled substances will change depending on how much you had in your possession and many other facts like your prior record, employment history, and much more. A second offense carries a possible sentence of up to 2 years in prison. The maximum penalty for felony drug possession is four (4) years. In reality, few individuals facing charges for possession of narcotics receive the maximum jail sentence; however, long terms of probation with burdensome terms, conditions, and costs are common. The bottom line is that a great drug crimes defense attorney gives you the best chance of avoiding jail or prison and a term of probation that sets you up for failure.
“This is my first drug possession charge. Do I need an experienced lawyer?”
While some courts tend to “go easier” on individuals facing possession charges for the first time, others are known for going overboard in either punishment or severe probation conditions. Either way, the consequences remain severe. Even in first-offense drug possession cases, you face up to 93 days or one (1) year in jail, depending on the charge. An experienced and tenacious attorney, who has represented thousands of clients in your situation, gives you the best odds of staying out of jail.
If you are found guilty of drug possession, you might face various collateral consequences, including the possibility of the federal government denying financial aid and federal housing assistance. The individual must carry around a conviction on their criminal record, which will slow down and even ruin any chance of obtaining future employment, eliminate gun or firearm rights, reduce the odds of promotions, and precipitate the loss of a professional license. The consequences of a possession charge are serious, so you need a top drug crime lawyer to represent you.
I have heard of 7411. What is it?
Michigan law allows those facing first-time possession charges to enter a guilty plea and have their cases taken under advisement so that there is no public record. Getting a judge to agree to 7411 can sometimes be challenging, and the defense attorney plays a vital role in persuading the judge to grant this special status. If the judge grants you 7411 status, they may require alcohol and drug education courses and random drug/alcohol testing. Still, if you fulfill the terms of the agreement, then no conviction will appear on your criminal record.
Frequently Asked Questions About Drug Possession Charges in Novi
How long do you go to jail for drug possession in Michigan?
A judge determines the length of a jail sentence by considering the fact o the case, the defendant’s background, the likelihood of rehabilitation, and the need for punishment and deterrence. With a good lawyer, you might not be sentenced to jail.
Do first-time drug offenders go to jail in Michigan?
Most first-time drug offenders do not get jail time for simple possession. Jail and prison are more frequently ordered in delivery, manufacture, conspiracy, and trafficking cases.
How much time do you get for drug possession?
|Ecstasy (MDMA) or Methamphetamine||10 years, a fine of $15,000|
|Heroin or Cocaine (under 25 grams)||4 years, a fine of $25,000|
|Analogues||2 years, a fine of $2,000|
|LSD, Peyote, Psilocybin||1 year, a fine of $2,000|
Is possession a felony in Michigan?
In Michigan, most drug possession charges are felony offenses; however, a reputable, influential lawyer can frequently negotiate a plea bargain for misdemeanor charges.
How do you beat a possession charge in Michigan?
If you’ve been charged with drug possession, whether for personal use or with the intent to sell, a criminal defense attorney can help you figure out what defenses you have. Some defenses include objecting to the case’s alleged facts, testimony, or evidence. Others focus on procedural flaws. Some defendants use an affirmative defense to fight drug possession accusations, which means they present evidence that proves they were acting legally or that the prosecution doesn’t have a case.
What is considered a controlled substance in Michigan?
A substance is classified as Schedule I under the Michigan Public Health Code if it has a high potential for abuse, has no established medical use in the United States, and is unsafe to use under medical supervision. LSD, Peyote, Ecstasy (MDMA), Mushrooms, and Heroin are all Schedule 1 restricted substances.
Drug Crimes Defense Attorney in Novi
Please call LEWIS & DICKSTEIN, P.L.L.C. to learn more about how we can help defend and protect you from felony or misdemeanor drug possession, delivery, or manufacture charges in Novi, Michigan. If you call us for a free consultation, we will take the time to talk with you, answer your questions, and address your concerns. You can rest assured that you will be treated respectfully and with compassion. If you trust us with your representation, we will always promptly return your calls and emails, be honest about your case, and do everything possible to protect and defend you.
Call us today at (248) 263-6800 for a free consultation or complete a Request for Assistance Form. We will contact you promptly and find a way to help you.