The punishment for a DUI in Wayne County, Michigan will depend on a few different factors. The number of DUI offenses on your record, the blood alcohol content found in your system, and your compliance or perhaps non-compliance during arrest will all determine the penalty of a potential DUI conviction. DUI charges are taken seriously by the state of Michigan, which is why you need experienced and aggressive attorneys to fight for your freedom.
LEWIS & DICKSTEIN, P.L.L.C. is a Michigan-based law firm founded in 1995 that has since helped thousands of clients face DUI charges often times resulting in lessened sentences or dropped charges all together.
What is considered drunk driving in the state of Michigan?
In Michigan, as well as most other states, a driver is considered to be drunk driving with a blood or breath alcohol content of .08% or higher. The state not only cracks down on drivers under the influence of alcohol, but illegal drugs as well. The legal limit for a person under the age of 21 is much lower. Drivers under 21-years-old have a legal limit of .02%. At a BAC of .17% or greater, a driver risks a charge of “Super Drunk Driving”, which is also known as OWI with a High BAC and this offense carries a maximum jail sentence of up to 180 days. The bottom line is that no matter what your age or walk of life, a DUI of any type can have a devastating impact on your life.
How can an experienced attorney help me?
The attorneys at LEWIS & DICKSTEIN, P.L.L.C have decades of experience representing clients facing felony and misdemeanor DUI charges and know how to walk you through what is a vulnerable and scary situation for most people. We review the night of the arrest with our clients to make sure there was no wrongdoing by police. In the event that proper protocols were not followed, charges can be and have been dropped in the past. Defenses in DUI cases can be scientific, medical, constitutional, factual or legal. Regretfully, many court appointed attorneys, general practice lawyers and even an experienced defense attorneys often do not explore these avenues with their clients. An attorney with years of experience and a reputation for winning, as well as a rapport built with the judges and personnel in the Wayne County court system, will have a greater chance negotiating a lesser charge, a reduced sentence or even an outright dismissal of all charges for their client.
The attorneys at LEWIS & DICKSTEIN, P.L.L.C are ready to protect you from misdemeanor or felony DUI charges. Please give us a call at (248) 263-6800 or complete a Request for Assistance Form and one of our DUI criminal defense attorneys will contact you.